January 26, 2023
Hibiscus © onlineflowergarden.com

Hibiscus is a genus of flowering plants in the Malvaceae family. It loves sunny spots. Some grow to 6 ft. They have a large trumpet-shaped flower of various shades of yellow, orange, red, and pink. They bloom in August and September and longer periods in warmer climates. They have alternate, ovate and lanceolate leaves. Their fruit is a capsule. It is usually five-lobed and contains many seeds. Hibiscus is native to tropical and subtropical regions.

There are many species over 200. They include annuals, perennials. There are evergreens and some deciduous species. There is Hibiscus huegelii, Hibiscus Mosecheutos, Hibiscus Mutabilis.

Hibiscus rosa-sinensis also called Chinese Hibiscus grows to 30ft in the tropics and is evergreen. The flowers are 4 to 8in wide. It flowers in the summer. Most Hibiscus plants require well-drained soil.

Hibiscus copyright www.onlineflowergarden.com
Pink Hibiscus

There is also Hibiscus sabdariffa, or Jamaica Flower an annual that grows to 4 ft. Hibiscus syriacus, or Rose of Sharon is a deciduous that grows to 12ft or 4m with 3in or 7.5cm wide flowers. This variety grows in sun or part shade.

Hibiscus tea is very popular. They make Hibiscus tea from its flowers. They claim this tea lowers blood pressure. They use Hibiscus cannabinus in papermaking. And they make ropes from Hibiscus tiliaceus, in Polynesia. Hibiscus is called Gol e Khatmi in Persian, Agua de Jamaica in Mexico, and Orhul in India. They also use Hibiscus as food, in Mexico and the Philippines, and they use it in traditional medicine in India.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *